An Eventful Party: Monster Truck 5th Birthday

As promised, I am finally getting around to posting about my sons Monster Truck 5th birthday party.  There were so many elements and pictures of this party that I had a hard time choosing which ones to showcase, so bear with me if this post gets long.

When Jace originally chose monster trucks as the theme for his party, I knew immediately that I didn’t want to go with the standard Grave Digger, black, green, and purple color scheme.  I wanted something different, and so I chose black and white checkered with pops of red, orange, and yellow.

One of the issues I immediately ran into was finding party decorations that fit my chosen color palette.  I quickly realized that I was going to need to make most of the decor myself.  So, I set to work making a custom birthday banner, station banners, pennant banners, drink labels, dessert and candy labels, welcome signs, pathway markers, invitations and pit passes, and anything else I could think to make.

Everyone was given their VIP pit passes once they arrived, and were instructed to proceed to the “Body Shop” where they could get tattooed and have their face painted.

I had four different stations set up around the party area.  There was a Refueling Station (for drinks), the Monster Feast Station (for food), the Dessert Bar, and the Candy Buffet.

Of course the kids loved the candy buffet, and the parents loved the toothbrush and toothpaste favors.  I got the idea from a party thrown by Crazy for Design posted on Amy Atlas.  My favorite feature was the monster truck tire lollipop displays.  They were super easy and inexpensive to make.

The dessert bar featured a little bit of everything.  I made the cake to look like a monster truck tire on the bottom, and then wanted it to look as if the monster truck was bursting out of the top of the cake.

I made monster truck drink labels for the IBC Rootbeer and Gatorade bottles, but I thought the orange Crush bottles fit the “Keep on Crushin” theme perfectly, so I left them as is.

For the party activity I chose a monster truck obstacle course.  Kids were invited into the “Friesen Arena” and had to complete an obstacle course full of different activities that were similar to what a real monster truck might do during a show.

To help space out the kids, we started off with a tire toss, in which they had to get a frisbee or wiffle ball into three different tires.  Once they completed that, they moved on to a tire obstacle, where they had to weave or jump through several tires.  From there, they had to walk a balance beam over a fire pit.  My husband lit several smoke bombs to make it seem like they were really crossing through fire. Then they went on to the can crushing area, where we had soda cans set up for them to stomp and crush. To finish it off, they had to do donuts around another tire, and then climb onto a wooden platform, and jump off.  After they had completed the entire course they were given checkered flags, and rubber bracelet bands with a tire tread design.  The kids had fun, and continued to go through the course several times.  They even put the blowup tires around them, and did the course that way at one point.

I created a Winner’s Circle area for the birthday boy to open his presents.

Everyone seemed to have a great time, and the birthday boy was happy, so that means the party was a success.

I had fun planning this party, and creating all the decorations.  I got so much inspiration from all the wonderful party blogs, and I’m amazed at all the great talent those women have.  Enjoy!

**Many thanks to my sister-in-law Chrystal, and my dad’s wife Sherri, for taking all the great party pictures.  To my wonderful friend Denise for helping me make all the fabulous desserts.  To my mother-in-law Ely, and everyone else who helped on the big day.  To my sweet niece Katie for her wonderful face painting skills. To my mother, who encouraged me every step of the way, and to my husband for putting up with all my crazy requests.  I love you all!

About Shea

My name is Shea. I'm new to the blogging world, but I'm having fun figuring out the whole process. I’ve been married for the last 15 years, and I’m the lucky mother to three wonderful boys. I enjoy being creative, and like to dabble in a little bit of everything. Whether it's planning a party, creating yummy, beautiful cakes and desserts, or just being crafty, I like to try it all.

Posted on June 9, 2011, in Birthday, Kids Party, Monster Trucks, Party and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 73 Comments.

  1. The invitation/ticket is awesome how did you do that!!

  2. How did you make the mud shots?

  3. What software did you use to create the items for the birthday party?

  4. Where did you get your cake from

  5. Great party!!! Will you sell your printables??? My son wants a Monster Truck Party and out of all the etsy shops I’ve visited I really like yours. Let me know. :)

    • Thank you. I am not selling any printables at the moment. I know some of the sellers on Etsy will make modifications to their printables if you ask them. Hope that helps. Good luck with your party.

  6. How did you make the monster truck tire lollipop holder?

  7. I would love to buy the banners from you my son wants a monster truck party and if course hi name is jace email if interested in selling any of your party decorations

  8. where did you get those tire balloons at??

  9. Wow! I love everything about Jace’s Monster Truck Jam. The Body Shop was an excellent idea. The cake is awesome! You inspire me to put together a Monster Truck Jam birthday for my son’s 5th birthday.

  10. How did you make the donut arch?

  11. love love love every detail!!! u r very talented, i was wondering how u made the layered jello cups.. thanks for sharing, my son too will be so happy thanks to your ideas:)

  12. Good Afternoon Shea,

    How did you create the sign with your son name and the monster jam banner underneath and the black round objects with his picture? Would it be easier to speak on the phone?

    • Hello. I used scrapbook paper cut out into the shapes/letters that I wanted to create the banner and his name. I used a picture of the monster jam logo from the internet that I printed out and glued to the scrapbook paper for the banner. The round objects with his picture are just frames that I found at the dollar store, that I spray painted black. Hope that helps.

  13. Hi, Shea. I know I am late for the party but I am positively inspired by Jace’ monster truck party. I am planning a monster truck party for my soon to be 4 y/o Andrew. Will you please share the template for the pit pass? I have looked everywhere online – but have’t found something similar to yours that I can purchase. Unfortunately, I lack the creative gene so I wouldn’t know where to begin on my own. Help, please!

    • Hi. You can find similar pit passes at Shindigz.com. They aren’t monster truck specific, but they are what I drew inspiration from when creating mine. If you want specific monster truck passes, you could probably find someone on Etsy.com who could make them for you. Good luck with your party.

  14. I absolutely love your post!! I have a monster truck Birthday party for my little man in a week and I have used so many of your great ideas!! Thank you for the pictures and the how to’s.

  15. Hey I love your party ideas! I was wondering how you made the body shop signs? Thanks

    • Thank you! I wrapped my mirror with black wrapping paper, then cut out the mirror area. I just used craft paper cut in a circle for the actual sign, and then printed out some flames from the internet, and glued them on where I wanted them. I used stickers for the letters. Hope that helps.

  16. I don’t know if you still check this blog as it looks like you have been away for a while but I wanted to thank you for the inspiration! My two boys are turning 3 and 4 in the next couple weeks and love monster trucks. There is very little out there for monter truck birthdays though and I found a lot of inspiration right here. Thanks!

    • Thank you for your kind words. Unfortunately, I had to go back to work, and it hasn’t left me much time to work on my blog/parties. My sons birthday is rolling around again, and I’ll hopefully be able to post about it. I’m glad you were able to find some inspiration from this party.

  17. how did you make the banners for everything?What did you use?

    • I just used craft paper, and cut out the shapes I wanted, and then glued on letters I also got from the craft store. I hot glued ribbon to the back of the smaller banners, and for the bigger banner, I used a hole punch, and threaded the ribbon through.

  18. how did you make the toothpaste party favors?

    • I made a template out of paper first by wrapping the paper around the tube. Once I had the template I was able to input the measurements into Microsoft Publisher, and then added text and the picture that I wanted within those measurements. I printed them out onto paper, cut out the shape, and then wrapped it around the tube and secured with glue.

  19. Love, love, love everything! I wish I would’ve seen your post sooner. My sons party is Saturday & we just moved into a house so I’ve been so busy getting the house together that I haven’t even started on his party! But I love the cake! Did you make it? It’s amazing and so different! You did give me great ideas though. Thanks!

  20. I love everything you did for your son birthday party. It looks awesome. I was wondering how you made the stickers on the bags and the candy buffet.

    • Thank you! To make the tags for the goody bags, I just used basic scrapbook paper and scrapbook supplies. I cut black card stock in a circle, and then cut out notches to make it look like a tire. I added a little colored glitter glue along the edge to give it some dimension. Then I used a silver/gray scrapbook paper, cut in a circle to mimic a rim, and glued it to the tire. I used Microsoft Publisher and printed out the “Thank you” tag, and then cut that in a circle, and attached it to the rim with a thick double sided foam tape I got at Michaels. I can’t remember what they call the tape squares, but they are thick, so the tag didn’t lay flat against the rim.

      For the candy buffet tags, I used Microsoft Publisher to create them, and then printed them on card stock paper, cut them out, and then attached them to the candy jars with ribbon.

      Hope that helps.

  21. Amazing and super fun party!! I love so many of your ideas!! Where did you find the tire rafts, or what looks like rafts in the game area? I’m planning a monster truck party in a few weeks and have looked online but nothing is popping out. Great job on all the hard work you put into that!

  22. OMG I am so excited to read all these ideas you posted . I am having a 5 year old Monster Truck Birthday Party for my son next month and was searching for ideas and found you. Thanks so much for posting and sharing all your ideas:)

  23. Shea-
    Love this party idea. I’m planning my son’s 3rd birthday, and I’d love to get your steps on how to make the tire display for the lollipops. Thank you!

  24. I love the lollipop tire treats. Did you buy this or make it. And if you did would you mind sharing with me. My son will be 5 in 2 weeks and I am having a Monster truck party. I am not creative at all, I need good ideas. Also, the stickers on the treat bags did you buy those. I would appreciate any help. I did the Monster truck pitt pass for invites so cute, I noticed you did that also. My son loves Grave digger and Maximum destruction. Thanks

  25. Awesome Monster Truck themed party. Could I also have the directions to make the tire display for the suckers? Thanks!

  26. Hi! What a great party! I am working on my son’s party and wanted to know where you found the monster jam logo to put on your banner.

    Thanks in adavance!

  27. wow… love the party pictures!!! My son loves Monster Jam and his 5th birthday is right before christmas. Wondering how I could transform it into an indoor party!?!? Thinking of renting a fire hall and maybe doing some of the obstacles in there if not. Thanks for all the wonderful pictures and ideas!

    • Thank you! You could easily do the obstacle course inside. You could put soda cans inside a trash bag, and have them crush them that way. Use step stools or chairs as obstacles for them to climb over. Honestly, everything I did outside, you could do inside, except for the smoke bombs of course. A fog machine or dry ice would create the same effect though.

  28. Hello, was wondering the exact steps to making your cute tire displays for the lollipops!

    • I will send them to your email address.

      • I would also like to receive the instructions for the tire diplays for the lollipops. This was an awesome set up

      • Thank you! Here are the instructions:

        Lollipop Tire Stand:

        You will need:

        -Round Floral Foam with Hole in Middle (I purchased at the dollar store)
        -Black Spray Paint
        -Triangle File or anything you can use to create the groove in the tire (I used the opposite end of a spoon on the first one I made)
        -Disposable Tinfoil Pie Dish (I purchased at the dollar store)

        • First you will need to use the triangle file, or whatever tool you are using, and make your grooves. I can’t remember exactly how far apart the grooves were, but I think it was approximately 3.5 – 4 inches apart. You will need to measure for yourself to see what works for you. After I had put all the grooves in, I was left with an approximately 2 inch space at the bottom of my tire, that I leveled off to help my tire stand up.
        • After all the grooves were made, I spray painted the entire thing black (front , back, sides, inside, etc). It took several coats to make sure there was no more green foam showing through. *Try not to get to close to the foam when spraying, so you won’t get any drip marks, and make sure you also let it dry between coats of paint.
        • For the rim of the tire, I cut the center of the tinfoil pie plate into an approximately 5 inch circle with an exacto knife. I had to trim some edges here and there to get it to fit properly inside the tire.
        • I used glue dots to stick on my “lollipop” printable in the center of the rim.
        • Just poke the lollipops right into the foam tire, making sure the sticks are hidden behind the rim. **you will need to keep the tire balanced as you are putting the lollipops on so it doesn’t fall over. I’d stick one in on the right side, then one on the left, and back and forth like that until they were all in.

  29. Just stumbled on your blog and wanted to wish Jace a belated Happy Birthday!
    Great job on the party!

    Steven
    Owner/Operator
    The Black Widow Monster Truck

  30. What a fun party! I borrowed your (outside) tire idea for my son’s birthday, but used real tires instead of inflatables. In my blog post about my son’s party, I linked to this post in my “inspiration” section. Thank you!

  31. Absolutely adorable! I LOVE the way you displayed the chocolate doughnuts! SO CUTE!

  32. I love a good boy party, and this was awesome! Would love to feature in a future Fiesta Friday!

  33. This is seriously incredible!! SERIOUSLY! This is such an amazing party! What fun it must have been!

  34. I Love It Shea! My favorite is the Body Shop, too clever!

  35. Love the party! Where did you get those tires?

    • Thank you! Not sure which tires you are referring to, but I bought the inflatable tires from the Dollar Tree, and the other tires I made.

  36. Hey Shea – nice work! Looks like it was a lot of fun too!
    Email me – Arden said you had some questions – more than happy to answer.

    Barbara

  37. WOW! What an awesome party! I wish I could have had a B-day party like that. Maybe I still can? lol

  38. Everything looked awesome, you are one talented Lady!

  1. Pingback: 20 Amazing Boy Party Themes {party ideas} - Tip Junkie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

