Teacher Appreciation

Since Teacher Appreciation Week is next week I thought I would show you what I’ve created for my kids’ teachers.

Flower Pot Cupcakes

Rather than bringing real flowers to their teachers, I thought it would be fun to give them some potted flower cupcakes.  I baked mini lemon cupcakes with cream cheese frosting, and topped them with some pretty fondant flowers that I made.  I placed the cupcakes in mini terra cotta pots, and then put them inside a tupperware container I found at the dollar store.  I used crushed up Oreo cookies as “dirt” to hold the pots in place so they wouldn’t move around. The label I used on the tupperware is a cute, free printable I downloaded from Living Locurto.

Bushel of Apples

After finding an apple-shaped cookie cutter, I decided to make sugar cookies.  I wanted a clever way of packaging them though, and these cute little baskets from JoAnn‘s were perfect.  I took the easy way out and just used a mix rather than baking the cookies from scratch, and it really saved me a lot of time.  For the icing, I wanted something that would harden enough for packaging, but would also be soft when bit into.  I found a very easy recipe (Toba Garrett’s Glace’ Icing) from Cake Central that was exactly what I needed. I’m not a professional cookie decorator as you can see from the wavy lines and bubbles in my icing, but I still think they turned out pretty good.  They taste great too!  For the “Thank You Teacher” tag I used a free printable that I got from How Does She, and used curling ribbon to secure it to the basket.

Candy Bar Wrappers

These free candy bar wrappers from Anything But Perfect made a very cheap and easy thank you gift.  All I had to do was print and cut the wrappers, and then wrap them around the candy bar and secure with tape.

Framed Subway Art

I found this cool, free subway art print on Today’s Fabulous Finds, and I really wanted to incorporate it into a gift somehow.  After personalizing the art with the teacher’s names and a colorful picture of stacked books, I printed it out, mounted it on some yellow cardstock paper, and used these cute polka dot frames from JoAnn’s to display it.  I tied them off with some red ribbon, and attached a free “A+ Teacher” printable from Tip Junkie.  I’m not  loving the yellow background color 100%, but at this point I’m just going to leave it as is.

Gift Card and Candle

To round out the week, I decided to give a Starbucks gift card.  I topped it off by adding a cute, chocolate scented, candy shaped candle, and tying it all together with a ribbon.

All in all, I think the teacher’s will enjoy their “Thank You’s” throughout the week.  I know I enjoyed coming up with the ideas and putting them together.

About Shea

My name is Shea. I'm new to the blogging world, but I'm having fun figuring out the whole process. I’ve been married for the last 15 years, and I’m the lucky mother to three wonderful boys. I enjoy being creative, and like to dabble in a little bit of everything. Whether it's planning a party, creating yummy, beautiful cakes and desserts, or just being crafty, I like to try it all.

Posted on April 30, 2011, in Ideas, Printables, Teacher Appreciation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

